Web-Mania

UK Web Hosting

Submit your review of Web-Mania »

Average Rating: 2.64

Based on 14 user reviews

14 User Reviews:

  1. March 7, 2011

    James (theabandonedsoldier.com) rated Web-Mania 0.5 stars.

    PAY PEANUTS GET MONKEYS – Do not touch with a barge pole, you’ve been warned!!!!

  2. February 2, 2011

    Simon (no link provided) rated Web-Mania 0.5 stars.

    I’ve been with these guys since 2000. Back then they were great. Now they suck so bad. No answer at Live chat, No support reply after the server was hacked and .htaccess files are redirecting my visitors!! Probably has to do with the fact I can access the files of other customers on the shared hosing!! Slow to upgrade PHP versions, control panel is very basic and an upgrade has been promised for 12 years… any day now I’m told. lol.

    If your site is very low traffic then it’ll do, but if you have more than a few people connecting at the same time it’ll fail. I’ve tested with just 3 people connecting at the same time and we had constant problems.

    I’m the fool for staying so long but they used to be good, now I’m finally having to go through the hassle of moving 10 websites!! Ultimately it’ll be easier!

    Terrible, terrible host, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED (by a long time once loyal customer).

  3. December 4, 2008

    MHammersley (register1.net) rated Web-Mania 0.5 stars.

    KEEP CLEAR YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!
    daily SQL connection problems, emails don’t work and get lost somewhere.

    Go with register1.net – the best host!

  4. February 26, 2008

    Mark (http://dtbait.co.uk) rated Web-Mania 1 stars.

    These are dirt cheap but you get what you pay for!
    Try to avoid, I get SQL database problems, loses connection and server not found errors FTP slow also… Will be moving my site once year is up.

    Try someone else like Register 1.

  5. May 25, 2007

    webmania_is_crap (http://Notprovidedbyreviewer) rated Web-Mania 0.5 stars.

    Very Bad Service.

    They had lost some of our data from MySQL, and then they said it is not their problems???

    They just don’t take blames for anything.

    Rubbish customer service and a rubbish host.

    MySQL down several times a week. Emails go missing. They do not offer backup service. The list of problems we have had with this incapable company is endless.

    AVOID them at all cost.

  6. June 13, 2006

    Anaximenes (awordinyourear.net) rated Web-Mania 2 stars.

    I’ve had a small site on web-mania for a couple of months and am getting frustrated with my temperamental email account – sometimes not working for hours and emails sent to me going missing.

    LiveHelp was misleading and time-consuming – they didn’t know their email server wasn’t working and got me waste time checking my setup.

    Have only noticed webpage being down once and only briefly.

  7. January 3, 2006

    pappa (no link provided) rated Web-Mania 1.5 stars.

    Pros : Cheap, well featured.

    Cons : Doesn’t work! Old versions of php, mysql. Loses e-mail, web mail totally broken. FTP is slow.

  8. January 3, 2006

    thesubstitute (no link provided) rated Web-Mania 1.5 stars.

    Pros:

    Value for money.

    Cons:

    Poor support – live chat is slow, staff rather understand questions and often give irrelevant answers.

    Outdated versions of php and mysql – They’re still using very old versions of php and mysql and upon repeated queries they have shown no intention of upgrading their services at all.

    Downtimes – Downtimes aren’t frequent overall, but when they occur, they seriously occur around the clock!

    Server space – People have mentioned problems with running out of space, upon queries this seems to be caused by their server setup. It seems each “batch” of clients share the same disk, which means you could run out of space through no fault of your own. This could however be fixed if you contact them via live chat.

    Overall, it’s an ok package for a basic website, but certainly not if reliability is important.

  9. December 16, 2005

    rob (no link provided) rated Web-Mania 0.5 stars.

    I setup a domain some time ago for my own personal use as a storage point which seemed to prove useful. As i had no problems i setup another account for a website i built but this proved to cause major problems with mysql and generally accessing the site. The downtime for the site is huge and I have problems every single day of the week. Apart from mysql not actually being up I have had problems with it apparently running out of space even though I barely have any data in a database

  10. December 12, 2005

    Sleepyd (no link provided) rated Web-Mania 1.5 stars.

    Pros: Cheap as chips hosting, linux, seemingly good package for the price if nothing goes wrong you’re fine. If you want a small website then it’s ok.

    Cons: You eventually die from eating chips. I hosted a site form here, and it took off fairly quickly. During the day users began to notice that the MySQL database went down periodically and for no reason. It took them ages to sort out what was wrong – simply the amount of users you get lumped with on the box makes any kind of investigation difficult. The support guys are bots or from india, they don’t understand anything complex, give you false assurances, and it really is annoying. Service is down quite frequently and the boxes host many users and the CPU usage is not load balanced. I moved off to a better host.

  11. August 22, 2005

    sfx (no link provided) rated Web-Mania 4.5 stars.

    I used to use these guys. Control as meantioned before is custom made but it is very easy to use… hendrix thinks is it difficult but I assure you it is not. There support is really good too, and like support works well too as meantioned before. Their uptime is the only thing that really let me down with them, don’t get me wrong, the uptime was good. But there is better places for uptime. but for the price, who can moan?

  12. June 16, 2005

    Sam0r (no link provided) rated Web-Mania 4.5 stars.

    I used to run a website with them, that never really took off.

    But as stated in other reviews, their tech support is great, send them an email with the problem, they’ll get straight on it.

    Very cheap hosting too, around 25 quid a year, not bad at all imo!

  13. June 11, 2005

    Richard Slater (no link provided) rated Web-Mania 4 stars.

    I have always had very good support from Web-mania, so much so that I have three clients running using web-manias servers, can’t beat the price. Uptime has been pretty good, live support works well, the control panel is custom made, its not great but it works and keeps the costs down.

  14. June 11, 2005

    hendrix (no link provided) rated Web-Mania 2 stars.

    Quite hard to get simple things set up with this host, for my first web hosting, i couldn’t complain too much. But since found much better hosts. Control panel v hard to get to grips with + generally poor customer support.

    Could be better.

Add Your Review:

By submitted a rating/review, you certify that you agree to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy of the website.

0.5 1 1.5 2 2.5 3 3.5 4 4.5 5