UK Host 4 u

We don't have any details for this provider. Click here to submit company information »

Submit your review of UK Host 4 u »

Average Rating: 2.15

Based on 27 user reviews

27 User Reviews:

  1. March 10, 2010

    steven (no link provided) rated UK Host 4 u 0.5 stars.

    No problems here I’ve used them for over 5 years – with only one or two problems; which I wont go into.

    Their support department have been happy to help on issues which dont relate to hosting.

    I am considering changing hosts though only because I spend too much cash with them & can get a better deal elcewhere!

  2. January 31, 2008

    barnettadam (ukhost4u.com) rated UK Host 4 u 0.5 stars.

    As a famous advert said – “Probably the worst host in the world”
    Severs constantly falling over, very poor support who always say it is working when it isn’t and try and push the blame on to you. I never write reviews on anything but felt compelled to write one about these guys…….utterly useless, avoid like bird flu.

  3. November 10, 2007

    QQ (neximperio.com) rated UK Host 4 u 1 stars.

    I have to give a very bad review for this hosting company.

    At first it all seemed just fine. Good amount of features, relatively fast. But it went downhill from there.

    First we had some downtimes. Of more than 24 hours. Then, suddenly, we lost all our data, and were reverted to 24 hour old backup. We didn’t even receive an apology. That same thing happened second time after a year or so. Downtimes continued.

    They kept breaking our site which strange changes to their apache/php configs. Like installing some weird protection scripts, and so on.

    The support was rude, and VERY unhelpful. They would ignore, provide arrogant and inadequate responses. They even deleted complaints from their forum.

    We’re trying to move from them as soon as possible..

  4. June 25, 2007

    Toni (http://tonitonitoni.com) rated UK Host 4 u 0.5 stars.

    Support is trash!

  5. January 18, 2007

    Tonu (http://ukhost4u.areawasteofspace.com) rated UK Host 4 u 0.5 stars.

    I’m a PHP/MYSQL dev and had mixed results with their hosting. I’ve had my account suspended twice without warning, without doing anything too exciting (IE, long mysql query, a few backed-up processes waiting to insert data). And the backup system doesn’t work, you have to do it manually. Very slow response on tickets, so long downtime waiting for them to un-suspend an account. And to top it all, they advertise 888 casino on the suspensions page, cashing in on the traffic!

    Also, if you have an account suspended out of hours, on the phone they tell you where to e-mail to get a suppor ticket. Useful when your e-mail accounts are suspended too.

    So no, not impressed.

  6. November 10, 2006

    dave (http://uklost4u.com) rated UK Host 4 u 0.5 stars.

    customer service is shocking,Support staff are rude and will argue, clearly havent read how to win friends and influence people…

    my email was down and i got a ticket back saying priority low!!

    mickey mouse mentality

  7. October 20, 2006

    webs-4u (webs-4u.co.uk) rated UK Host 4 u 3 stars.

    I have been with them for about 2 months now. All seems ok apart from the fact that I just cannot get google to see my site.
    I have done it all…sitmaps,robots.txt files,meta tags. so now I am considering changing hosts fior that one reason.

  8. June 2, 2006

    michaelp42 (fitnessandstrength.com) rated UK Host 4 u 0.5 stars.

    Very poor service. Signed up in March 2006 and in that time my website was offline for 2 periods of approx 1 week each. The first was after they got hacked – the hacker replaced my main index.html with one of his own. I found out only by chance while checking my website – I was NOT informed by the company. Second time was after a hardware failure at their end – backup drive also failed. No notification again from them – and by the time I checked my website almost a week had passed. I was pointed to a post on their forum (which I didn’t even know existed) stating that I would have to get in touch with them giving all my initial sign up details to enable them to re-create my account. At this time I moved my website to another hosting company. My attempts to cancel my service with UKHOST4U were met in a rather blunt manner – I requested a refund of the time outstanding on the account (approx 9-10 months), but the company do not seem to care about unhappy customers hence I am being forced to take the matter up with my credit card company. To make it all worse I even paid the extra £4.95 for the 24 hour service agreement. All in all a very unhappy customer.

  9. May 31, 2006

    djquinn (no link provided) rated UK Host 4 u 0.5 stars.

    Appalling. Website was down, when I e-mailed them to ask why, they referred me to visit a post on their forum which explained they had had a hard-disk failure and had NO BACKUP, then asked you to go and set your account back up again manually!!!

    Decided to transfer the domain name away from them – after at least 20 e-mails, two faxes, three re-submissions and no joy for over a week, eventually called them.

    First call, didn’t even take any of the domain details from me, said he’d check with accounts (check what if i hadn’t told him the domain name?), put me on hold, and then the phone disconnected me.

    Called back, explained the situation, said he’d check with the accounts department, put me on hold, and again cut me off.

    THIRD call, he said that i’d “disappeared” and hadn’t been cut-off, refused to accept there was a fault with his phone system (or apologise for that matter), and said that the transfer had now “magically” been accepted. Still waiting to see if it had.

    When I asked him why it had taken a full week to push a button, he said “I can’t answer that, but it’s been done now”. No apology, no explanation.

    AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE

  10. March 27, 2006

    Slider (no link provided) rated UK Host 4 u 0.5 stars.

    Worst host i’ve ever experienced.
    Paid up front for the year. I had my website disappear for no apparent reason on many occasions, they suspended it with no excuse. Customer service is non existent. This really is the lowest of the lows and I would never recommend this company. Stay away!

  11. December 27, 2005

    joemorris86 (no link provided) rated UK Host 4 u 0.5 stars.

    The first time i ordered from them about 6 years ago they screwed me over big time. I spent about 2 months trying to get my account sorted and it never did. Every few days i would email them, and they would say they would fix the problem and activate my account, but it never got activated. It was like they didn’t know what they were doing.

  12. December 5, 2005

    HostBlah (no link provided) rated UK Host 4 u 1 stars.

    They say they have a private cage at Coreix, WRONG – they only rent dedicated servers off them. THEY LIE! They take credit card payments over their website and process them with a PDQ machine when they don’t even have a Internet Merchant Number. They have rude support staff. The list goes on forever. Don’t go with UKHOST4U. Google them and you’ll see what I mean.

  13. December 4, 2005

    Gaspode (no link provided) rated UK Host 4 u 4.5 stars.

    I really don’t understand this, I have been with UK host 4 U for 2 years now without any problems at all. The helpline have always explained things well, (I was new to this stuff!)and I have only been aware of my site going down for a few minutes, ONCE! For what you pay, they offer a reliable, helpful friendly service, you can pay twice as much with other companies (as some of my friends have done) and get far less. AS far as I’m concerned I have had good value for money and fast responses if I have had any queries.

  14. December 2, 2005

    penguin133 (no link provided) rated UK Host 4 u 4.5 stars.

    I signed up for hosting going on for a couple of years ago.

    Yes, UKHost4u have had their problems, but they got up an dealt with them. That’s why I am still with them today. They now seem so much more proffesional, and have a service and support that matches that. Their servers are now (bar 1) all in the UK, and they offer both Windows and Linux hosting, with a lot of features.

    Their prices are pretty much unbeatable in terms of value-for-money. UkHost4u are not the best, but they are by far not the worst.

  15. December 2, 2005

    Cashmygiro (no link provided) rated UK Host 4 u 0.5 stars.

    Banned from using there forum. just shows they have rude support.

  16. December 2, 2005

    extreeme (no link provided) rated UK Host 4 u 4.5 stars.

    After reading the comments here I am supprised as I have 3 accounts with ukhost and they have all been fine, although I agree that they do go down sometimes I have never really noticed it and when I have its been for a minute or so, nothing bad really. If I had one suggestion for them it would have to be update your Frequenty asked questions more often as it lacks on the windows side a bit. and one other thing would have to be a option for hosting with a website already built on it as an option, at extra cost of course I don’t want anything for nothing or expect it.

    as A final word, I would have to say for what you pay with ukhost I feel its a good service

  17. December 2, 2005

    Autumnmist (no link provided) rated UK Host 4 u 4.5 stars.

    I too am a noob at hosting and stuff, but UKHost4u have been nothing but helpful to me. I did have a period of time when my website kept being unavailable but after asking about this they did something – don’t ask me what – and it didn’t do it again. The value is great, and I have never had any problem with either rudeness, customer service or delays in response to my questions. I would recommend UKHost4u to anyone.

  18. December 2, 2005

    vicci (no link provided) rated UK Host 4 u 4 stars.

    I read this a while back after signing up with ukhost4u and got really worried, but I don’t understand it, my experience over the past 6 months has been great, I’m not a expert at this internet stuff, but I got an email that explained it all at the beginning and found the control panel easy to use and the staff although vague a times always there when I needed them, as it was explained to me they are hosts and not website nanny’s, in fact one guy helped my completely recover my site after I deleted some files like an idiot. Now I’m not going to say they are number 1 in my books and yes there is some downtime on my server, but not a great deal, maybe a few times for a few minutes, But I have found them quick to answer in comparison to my last host who took a week and only did emails (one of the big hosts too??) ukhost4u answers nearly all my emails the same day. I really feel that you people that post on here are only the bad end and I suppose that the people that are happy don’t bother to come here to say what they feel really. So maybe this is not a
    Well balanced way to show for any hosting really. Well I’m glad I have stayed anyway
    And I will be renewing it next year, but maybe I will swap to month payments as they seem to do that now

  19. November 25, 2005

    davygravy (no link provided) rated UK Host 4 u 0.5 stars.

    I have to say, I wish I’d read these reviews before parting with 12 months hosting fees! This company is easily the worst I’ve ever experienced.

    The only company I’ve ever known to delete support tickets if you ask the wrong question… like “are you hosting in the UK?”.

    My control panel went down for 8 (yes 8!) days and what did they tell me… “just keep checking every hour, that’s what the 300 other users affected are doing!”.

    MySQL database went down 6 times in one week (not good for an eCommerce site!)…

    If I typed in https… mydomain.co.uk, someone elses website came up!

    This review site is great, I’ll be reading others experiences here first before I commit to any other hosts :-)

  20. November 16, 2005

    and1c (no link provided) rated UK Host 4 u 1.5 stars.

    Got my site set up automated style and all looked good…though support is rude and useless…and downtime is massive….

    if you just have a homepage…it may just suffice

  21. November 10, 2005

    ibosie (no link provided) rated UK Host 4 u 0.5 stars.

    One month later, having terminated the account I have been unable to extract any kind of acknowledgement from this host. According to the cancellation form receipts are issued within 3 days which I have good reason to suspect is just more fibbing on the part of UKHost4U.

  22. October 18, 2005

    beh (no link provided) rated UK Host 4 u 4.5 stars.

    My brother uses this company for http://www.divuk83.net and as far as I’m aware he’s been quite happy with the service after transferring from webmania. Trace his domain and you’ll find the servers are uk based, speeds seems perfectly fine for me.

  23. October 10, 2005

    bosie (no link provided) rated UK Host 4 u 0.5 stars.

    UKHost4U thinks 50-250kbps is a reasonable speed for web pages. Fine if your site is text only otherwise look elsewhere. I took a risk and paid 1 year in advance for Shared Business Hosting before deciding to cancel after just one month. UKHost4U do not give refunds so if you want to cancel without cost pay monthly or better still choose another host.

    Dear Customer,

    You are not entitled to a refund as you are cancelling your account with ourselves. If you only wanted for example six months service you should have then paid monthly.

    Regards,

    Business Manager – Level 1
    UKHost4U – Hosting Systems

  24. July 28, 2005

    uk_viper (no link provided) rated UK Host 4 u 0.5 stars.

    i use their service because they were providing a large package for a small price and they said they were UK based, Lie, no1, they are hosted at the planet.com, which is in the US in dallas, there support tickets never got replied to, and when i called their phone service they were sarcastic, and once they put the phone down on me!, they also charged me £60 for a new year, without even notifying me that my year was up, this was aparently because their domains are free for the first year, there was no mention on their site about that when i joined!, i even read the T&Cs when i first joined, so a definate thumbs down for ukhost4u

  25. July 5, 2005

    nigedo (no link provided) rated UK Host 4 u 0.5 stars.

    I’ve had a shared web hosting package with them for about a year. The service used to be fine for simple HTML pages, but there has been sluggish performance and terrible downtime for my new site using mysql and php. Server loads peaking at 7.2, according to UKHost4U’s own c-panel info.

    Appalling and derisory customer service. Little willingness to take responsibility. When I requested them to move my site to a less crowded server, they said they would only move the domain and not the data. Also, they told me to backup all of my site data manually by ftp, because they had disabled the normal backup facility due to “customers abusing it”. They refused to cancel the service on the strength of my email request and threatened that they would debit my payment card for another year’s renewal if I did not print off and send them their own cancellation form (disclosing further personal information).

    I would not touch this company’s services again if you paid me to do so.

  26. May 20, 2005

    Chiz (no link provided) rated UK Host 4 u 3 stars.

    Well this is my first hosting i’ve used, so there’s not much i can compare it to, but…
    I agree with the comment before, with the down times being quite frequent, and especially the terrible customer service.

    I’m currently wishing to transfer my total uploaded data to a new domain name, and after countless emails asking for help to do so, a member of staff relayed emails with me for a while, untill nothing. No more replies, no more help, nothing. This is not the first time i’ve asked for help and been dissapointed before.

    What you get, and the specification looks impressive, but it’s let down by the poor customer service, therefor i’m looking elsewhere for hosting.

  27. May 13, 2005

    Hamish (no link provided) rated UK Host 4 u 1 stars.

    this company is terrible, on their website they say that their sites are hosted in some data centre in the UK when in fact they are hosted in the US, speed is slow and the support is terrible. they have some guy on MSN for support who cant spell and blatently lies about the service. If you so much as visit your site they will suspend it without even emailing you then not know why they suspended you. their hosting is also rubbish with lots of downtime and badly configured servers. at one point they deleted all of my MySQL user accounts and I dont think they have even realised.

    to their advantage its only £50 a year for 1Gb of storage and 25Gb transfer but it is unlikely that you will be able to use all of this as your site will be suspended most of the time.

Add Your Review:

By submitted a rating/review, you certify that you agree to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy of the website.

0.5 1 1.5 2 2.5 3 3.5 4 4.5 5