Dreamhost

US based site. Domain registration, hosting and all the usual jive. Full company description at the following URL:

http://www.dreamhost.com/aboutus.html

Services:

Submit your review of Dreamhost »

Average Rating: 3.38

Based on 14 user reviews

14 User Reviews:

  1. September 17, 2011

    ristac (no link provided) rated Dreamhost 1.5 stars.

    I was with these guys for two years in the early days when I didn’t know better. Slow, constant downtime oversold cheap hosting. They are so oversold and are a massive favourite with those that host adult related sites so your bandwidth and resources often get choked.

  2. August 2, 2010

    a (no link provided) rated Dreamhost 3 stars.

    they were ok until i started getting a lot of traffic, and they cut me off with a weeks notice.

    would only use for small static sites

  3. January 30, 2008

    zinc (http://stash.io) rated Dreamhost 5 stars.

    Good for a cheap web server, and even cheaper with promo code. Good level of support and the control panel is excelent.

    Only downfall is that the servers are in USA so loading a page can be slightly longer.

  4. August 12, 2007

    agw_01 (artstruckgallery.co.uk) rated Dreamhost 5 stars.

    Great service, excellent prices with a range of decent hosting packages.

    Had to contact the support team due me not being able to access the site. Turns out my IP address was blocked on their server for some reason but the problem was rectified within a couple of hours after my initial contact.

    Great stuff!

  5. June 25, 2007

    Dameon Jones (http://N/a) rated Dreamhost 4.5 stars.

    I used the Promotional Code: 45n5
    and signup and setup was pretty fast.

  6. May 14, 2007

    unknowndomain (http://n/a) rated Dreamhost 4.5 stars.

    Get a discount of up to $97 through this site I found on digg. It appears to work. but the discount varies depending on how much you spend and only works for the first year afaik.

    Promotional Code: 45n5

  7. April 7, 2007

    eracer2006 (twoblacklines.com) rated Dreamhost 5 stars.

    Great uptime and reliability, speed and space. Never use half the bandwidth and space they provide on shared.

  8. November 26, 2006

    AdamSee (http://radiant.digital-finance.co.uk) rated Dreamhost 4.5 stars.

    Used the promo code ‘SAVE49DOLLARS’.
    Which, as it says, saves 49 dollars on orders.

    Excellent support for Ruby on Rails and great SSH access, it’s very powerful. For those that don’t know, SSH is a command line interface directly controlling your web space. With it you can install software and it’s all well documented in a n expansive dreamhost wiki. I wouldn’t call this a beginners host, but a powerful main host for technical users. 9 out 10 because their email support is a little slow.

  9. April 20, 2006

    Sul (no link provided) rated Dreamhost 5 stars.

    I’ve just moved over from Hosting-Unlimited, to Dreamhost and I must say the support that Dreamhost give is far far more friendly, patient and useful. I love the panel they have, I prefer it to cpanel actually.

  10. April 4, 2006

    merp (no link provided) rated Dreamhost 5 stars.

    very good. their control panel is a bit iffy. but for the price you can’t complain. just wish they used cpanel. took about a day to work out how to use their control panel propperly.
    well cheap. two years hosting unlimited sites for about £50 cos i used a code on http://www.internetsplash.com/save-money/dreamhost.php
    cheap as. no downtime yet either.

  11. January 21, 2006

    freak_boy (no link provided) rated Dreamhost 4.5 stars.

    i also signed up with the code/promotional offer and have insane amount of webspace/bandwidth that i rarely use.
    The panel could be better *its no match for Cpanel/fantastico* but its ok.
    some downtime happens but they do let us know in advance.
    I agree great speed and good value for money!

  12. July 26, 2005

    diskbox (no link provided) rated Dreamhost 5 stars.

    I have been exceptionally impressed with their service for a long time, after bringing this host to the attention of other OCUK forum users, during one of Dreamhosts, still running 7th year promotional offer. overall the service has been fantastic, for amere fiver. the features surpass anything i have seen with other hosts. i cannot fault them.

  13. May 9, 2005

    robmiller (no link provided) rated Dreamhost 4.5 stars.

    I signed up for the “Crazy Domain Insane” package when the special deal ($9/year) was on, and received 2.4GB of storage, 120GB of bandwidth per month, and lots of nice extras like unlimited emails, unlimited SQL databases, PHP with all the trimmings etc. At the price, I didn’t expect much – I figured that it could just be a place I could throw things up temporarily; nothing mission-critical, anyway. Who cares if it went down?

    Well, it hasn’t. Everything so far has been cracking; no downtime (that I’ve noticed – I haven’t been measuring), great speeds considering their location, and even more features than were advertised. Their support is prompt, and the monthly newsletters are refreshingly fun. They seem like a genuine business that offer a great standard of service, and are friendly to boot.

    I was umming and aahing about giving them a 10, but I’ll hold off giving a perfect score and give them a fantastic 9 instead :)

  14. May 8, 2005

    Commander Data (no link provided) rated Dreamhost 5 stars.

    I’ve never needed an expensive host, instead I was after somewhere to store my pictures, videos and personal websites, with good value being key. Signed up with Dreamhost during a promotion deal they were running (and perhaps still are), giving me a domain, crazy amount of space along with all the usual features you would expect. For the price I had my hopes set low, but Dreamhost have provided an excellent service so far. I can’t comment on those looking to host a business website, but for a large chunk of personal space on the web, with some nice features and friendly support, Dreamhost are right on the money.

    They’ve offered a service above and beyond what I expected. While the more serious web designer, businessman or Internet geek might not rate them as highly, I see no reason not to give them a 10.

Add Your Review:

By submitted a rating/review, you certify that you agree to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy of the website.

0.5 1 1.5 2 2.5 3 3.5 4 4.5 5